Nimule SS – Kenya, South Sudan and Uganda – April, 2018

All Partner States of the East African Community (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda) implement the WHO-developed Integrated Disease Surveillance and  Response (IDSR) strategy. This provides standards for case and outbreak detection, collection and reporting of disease surveillance data on a list of priority diseases from community to national levels; preparedness, investigation; and response to disease outbreaks; and feedback at all levels. The International Health Regulations (IHR2005) are a set of legal provisions that all
countries are expected to apply to contain diseases with potential to spread across borders in the states of origin with minimal interference with international travel and trade.
Through the ministries responsible for human and animal health, the EAC partner states are collaborating to implement the “East African Integrated Disease Surveillance Network (EAIDSNet)” which promotes harmonization, capacity-building and exchange of best practices of integrated disease surveillance and response (IDSR) in the region. In addition, the East African Community is collaborating with the EAC Partner States, the East, Central and Southern Africa Health Community Secretariat (ECSA-HC), the World Health Organization (WHO) and the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and other partners in the implementation of the World Bank supported “East Africa Public Health Laboratory Networking Project (EAPHLNP)” which also contributes to the strengthening of the EAIDSNet.

The EAPHLNP main purpose is to establish a network of efficient, high quality, accessible public health
laboratories for the diagnosis and surveillance of IDSR priority diseases including Tuberculosis
(TB) and other communicable disease, with emphasis to cross-border areas.

For more information on this report, Read more here